16-Year-Old Sensation Anmol Kharb Secures Gold at 85th Senior National Badminton Championships 2023


Share post:


Anmol Kharb, 16, won the women’s singles title at the National Badminton Championships 2023 at the RG Baruah Sports Complex in Guwahati on Sunday.

The teenager lost the first game of the final to Tanvi Sharma but fought back to level the score. She was leading in the decider when Tanvi retired with an injury. Anmol was leading 15-21, 21-17, 16-8 after over one hour of intense badminton.

Anmol Kharb is the No. 1 in U-19 and U-17 in the Badminton Association of India (BAI) rankings.

Meanwhile, the men’s singles title clash saw an upset as the unseeded Chirag Sen secured the national title after defeating fourth-seed Tharun M by a 21-14, 13-21, 21-9 scoreline.

Tharun, No. 2 in the BAI rankings, conceded the first game but drew level. But Chirag made a fantastic comeback in the decider, with clever strokes at the right moments.

In the mixed doubles summit clash, recently crowned Odisha Masters champions Dhruv Kapila and Tanisha Crasto dominated from the start and comfortably defeated the sixth-seeded duo of Nitin Kumar-Navdha Manglam 21-13, 21-8 in 25 minutes to claim their maiden national title.

Priya Devi Konjengbam and Shruti Mishra lifted the women’s doubles title with a superb come-from-behind 11-21, 21-14, 21-18 win over Ritika Thaker-Simran Singh. Coming into the final as favourites, Ritika-Simran started well but Priya and Shruti kept their calm even after being 10-15 down in the decider at one point and outperformed the fifth seeds in the next two games.

The men’s doubles final was an edge-of-the-seat thriller where K Pruthvi Roy-Suraj Goala caused an upset by defeating Krishna Prasad Garaga-Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala 20-22, 24-22, 21-14. 

Pruthvi and Suraj conceded a very closely-fought opening game but mounted an excellent challenge in the next couple of games to defeat the experienced top seeds.

National Badminton Championships 2023 winners

Men’s singles: Chirag Sen

Women’s singles: Anmol Kharb

Men’s doubles: K Pruthvi Roy-Suraj Goala

Women’s doubles: Priya Devi Konjengbam-Shruti Mishra

Mixed doubles: Dhruv Kapila-Tanisha Crasto

Featured Image: The Bridge

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Related articles

Singapore Open Virtual Taekwondo Championships celebrates successful first edition

Singapore Taekwondo Federation looks to continue good momentum ahead of November’s inaugural World Virtual Taekwondo Championships here. SINGAPORE, 9...

IOC EB recommends French Alps 2030 and Salt Lake City-Utah 2034 to the IOC Session for election as hosts of the Olympic and Paralympic...

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board (EB) has proposed to the IOC Session the election of the French Alps...


France men and Australia women crowned HSBC SVNS 2024 Champions at Grand Final in Madrid France beat Argentina 19-5...

Adriana Diaz and Martin Perry Become Table Tennis Planet Ambassadors

ITTF Launches New Ambassador Programme for Athletes to Champion a More Sustainable Sport Ecosystem. The International Table Tennis Federation...