All you need to know about Asian Junior Championship 2023


Share post:

The BNI Badminton Asia Junior Championships 2023 are international badminton competitions held in Asia to determine the top junior badminton players (under-19). From July 7 to 16, 2023, the competition will be held in the Among Rogo Sports Hall in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. The competition is hosted by the Badminton Association of Indonesia and sanctioned by Badminton Asia.

The 2023 Badminton Asia Junior finals will feature both mixed team and individual finals. The mixed team event, which will take place from July 7 to 11, will include fourteen teams, while the individual competitions will take place from July 12 to 16.

Individual and mixed team events will be held during the badminton competition. Individual contests will take held from July 12 to 16, while mixed team matches will take place from July 7 to 11.

14 teams are grouped into four groups for the mixed team event. India is in Group C, along with Malaysia, Bangladesh, and Hong Kong.

Badminton Asia Junior Championships 2023 Groups

Group A – China, Indonesia, Vietnam
Group B – Japan, Chinese Taipei, Singapore, Philippines
Group C – Malaysia, India, Bangladesh, Hong Kong
Group D – Thailand, UAE, Korea

The mixed team event’s group stage will be played in a single-leg round-robin style. Players from each squad will compete in five categories: boys doubles, girls singles, boys singles, girls doubles, and mixed doubles. Each tie will be a best-of-five match. The top two teams in each group will advance to the elimination phase. The final will take place on July 11.

Following tryouts, the Badminton Association of India (BAI) announced the team for the competition. The Indian contingent will be led by Tara Shah, who is presently ranked seventh in the girls’ singles category, and Ayush Shetty. Rakshitha Sree, competing in the women’s singles, has been a junior for quite some time and has previously competed in the World Junior Championships last year.

Since the tournament’s beginning in 1997, India has won a total of nine medals (gold 2, silver 1, and bronze 6). Only Lakshya Sen (2018) and PV Sindhu (2012) have won gold medals in both the men’s and women’s singles categories.

Indian Team

Boys Singles: Lakshya Sharma, Samarveer, Ayush Shetty, Dhruv Negi.

Girls Singles: Rakshitha Sree S, Shriyanshi Valishetty, Tara Shah, Anmol Kharb.

Boys Doubles: Nicholas Nathan Raj / Tushar Suveer, Divyam Arora / Mayank Rana.

Girls Doubles: Radhika Sharma / Tanvi Sharma, Karnika Sree S / Taneesha Singh.

Mixed Doubles: Samarveer / Radhika Sharma, Arulmurugan R / Srinidhi N

Featured Image: Mykhel

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Related articles

It’s a Spanish Cinderella Story in San Francisco: Los Gallos claim SailGP Season 4 Grand Final title

Four major titles in a super Sunday of sport for the Spanish, as Spain secure $2Million in prize...

World Aquatics Championships – Singapore 2025 organising committee unveils event venues

SINGAPORE, 12 July 2024 – Come 11 July 2025, Singapore will be hosting over 2,500 of theworld’s best...

SailGP crowns Emirates Great Britain Season 4 Champions of the Impact League – SailGP’s Podium for the Planet

The team’s commitment to climate action, empowering young people and driving gender equity in sailing sees Emirates GBR...