Indian Squad for U-15, U-17 Badminton Asia Junior Championships Revealed


Share post:

-Khel Now

2022 Asian Junior bronze medallist Gnana Dattu and U-17 India No. 1 Anmol Kharb will spearhead the Indian challenge as Badminton Association of India (BAI) announced the 33-member Indian squad for upcoming Badminton Asia Junior Championships, scheduled to take place in Chengdu, China from October 17.

The Indian squad will participate in a 14-day national training camp starting from October 1 at the National Centre of Excellence in Guwahati. India’s No. 1 in under seventeen category, Anmol Kharb will lead the charge in girls’ singles along with India No.2 Tanvi Sharma, Rujula Ramu (Indian no 3) and Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye in U-17 whereas Adarshini Shri NB, Diksha Sr, Shantipriya Hazarika, Evanna Tyagi will compete in the U-15 category.

“This is a new bunch of young shuttlers who have been consistently doing well in the junior circuit. These players have shown consistent performances across various domestic events and selection tournaments and it is our responsibility at the Badminton Association of India to give them the necessary break at this career stage. I am sure they will play to their potential and give their best to make the nation proud,” said Sanjay Mishra, General Secretary, Badminton Association of India (BAI).

Bornil Akash Changmil, Nischal Chand, Jagsher Singh Khangurra and Dev Ruparelia will be the players to watch out for in U-15 boys’ singles. While bronze medallist in the U-15 age group in the last edition, Gnana Dattu will now shoulder the responsibility in the U-17 boys’ singles section alongside Lalthazuala, Pranauv Ram and Suryaksh Rawat.

In the boys’ doubles section, the pair of Bhargav Ram Arigela and Vishwa Tez Gabburu along with Bhavya Chhabra and Param Choudhary will be India’s best bet in the U-17 category. Whereas, the duo of Hardik Divyansh and Amith Raj Natraj will compete in the U-15 category, along with the pair of Jagsher Singh Khangurra and Dev Ruparelia.

Tanvi Reddy Andluri and Rashika U will play in the U-17 girls’ doubles section apart from the pair of Gayatri Rawat and Mansa Rawat. Whereas, in the U-15 girls’ doubles category, the pair of Deepak Raj Aditi and Ponnamma B. V. Vridhi will be the ones to watch out for along with Lakshmi Ridhima Devneni and Sarayu Suryaneni. India finished with 5 medals in last year’s edition including 2 silver and 3 bronze medals. 

Indian U-17 squad

  • Boys’ singles: Lalthazuala, Pranauv Ram, Gnana Dattu DT, Suryaksh Rawat
  • Girls’ singles: Anmol Kharb, Tanvi Sharma, Rujula Ramu, Naishaa Kaur Bhatoye
  • Boys’ doubles: Bhargav Ram Arigela/Vishwa Tez Gabburu, Bhavya Chhabra/Param Choudhary
  • Girls’ doubles: Tanvi Reddy Anadluri/Rashika U, Gayatri Rawat/Mansa Rawat
  • Mixed Doubles: Siddharth Rawat/Angel Puneria, Bhargav ram Arigela/Pragati Parida 

Indian U-15 squad

  • Boys’ singles: Bornil Akash Changmail, Nischal Chand, Jagsher Singh Khangurra, Dev Rupare
  • Girls’ singles: Adarshini Shri NB, Diksha SR, Shantipriya Hazarika, Evanna Tyagi
  • Boys’ doubles: Hardik Divyansh/Amith Raj Natraj, Jagsher Singh Khangurra/Dev Ruparelia
  • Girls’ doubles: Deepak Raj Aditi/Ponnamma B. V. Vridhi, Lakshmi Ridhima Devneni/Sarayu Suryaneni
  • Mixed Doubles: Bornil Akash Changmail/Shantipriya Hazarika

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Related articles

Singapore Open Virtual Taekwondo Championships celebrates successful first edition

Singapore Taekwondo Federation looks to continue good momentum ahead of November’s inaugural World Virtual Taekwondo Championships here. SINGAPORE, 9...

IOC EB recommends French Alps 2030 and Salt Lake City-Utah 2034 to the IOC Session for election as hosts of the Olympic and Paralympic...

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board (EB) has proposed to the IOC Session the election of the French Alps...


France men and Australia women crowned HSBC SVNS 2024 Champions at Grand Final in Madrid France beat Argentina 19-5...

Adriana Diaz and Martin Perry Become Table Tennis Planet Ambassadors

ITTF Launches New Ambassador Programme for Athletes to Champion a More Sustainable Sport Ecosystem. The International Table Tennis Federation...