Spike It Up: A Comprehensive Guide to the Asian Women’s Volleyball Championship 2023


Share post:


The Indian women’s volleyball team will be one of the 14 teams in action at the Asian Women’s Volleyball Championship 2023 in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand from August 30 to September 6. The week-long tournament will be played at two venues – Korat Chatchai Hall and The Mall Korat’s MCC Hall.

Now in its 22nd edition, the Asian Women’s Volleyball Championship is being held after a gap of four years. The biennial volleyball event was cancelled in 2021 due to COVID-19. The top three teams from the competition will qualify for the 2025 FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship.

The competition will be conducted in three phases – the preliminary round, the classification round and the knockout round. The 14 teams have been slotted into four groups for the prelims. Pool A and B have three teams each while Pool C and D will feature four teams.

Volleyball Team and Pools

Pool A: Thailand, Australia, Mongolia

Pool B: Japan, Iran, India

Pool C: South Korea, Chinese Taipei, Vietnam, Uzbekistan

Pool D: China, Kazakhstan, Hong Kong, Philippines

India, 68th in the world rankings, have been placed in Pool B alongside defending champions Japan, world No. 8, and 65th-ranked Iran. The People’s Republic of China, world No. 6, are the most successful side in the tournament with 13 titles. They are in Pool D.

The top two teams from each of the four groups in the preliminary round make it to Pool E and F while the remaining teams are drawn into Pools G and H of the classification round.The two top teams from Pool E and F will make the top four (semi-finals) while all remaining teams will play to achieve the best-possible placements.

The top four teams will play in the semi-finals on September 5 while the third-place match and the final will be held on September 6.India’s best performance in the tournament came in 1979, when they finished seventh on their debut. The Indian women’s volleyball team registered consecutive 10th-place finishes in the 2017 and the 2019 editions.

A 12-member squad will represent India at the Asian Women’s Volleyball Championship 2023.


Jini KS, Maria Sebastian, Nirmal, Shaalini, Saranya, Ezhilmathi, S Soorya, Shilpa, Anusree Ghosh, Minimol, Anagha and Ananya Das

PC: Olympics

Featured Image: Olympics

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Related articles

Singapore Open Virtual Taekwondo Championships celebrates successful first edition

Singapore Taekwondo Federation looks to continue good momentum ahead of November’s inaugural World Virtual Taekwondo Championships here. SINGAPORE, 9...

IOC EB recommends French Alps 2030 and Salt Lake City-Utah 2034 to the IOC Session for election as hosts of the Olympic and Paralympic...

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board (EB) has proposed to the IOC Session the election of the French Alps...


France men and Australia women crowned HSBC SVNS 2024 Champions at Grand Final in Madrid France beat Argentina 19-5...

Adriana Diaz and Martin Perry Become Table Tennis Planet Ambassadors

ITTF Launches New Ambassador Programme for Athletes to Champion a More Sustainable Sport Ecosystem. The International Table Tennis Federation...