Ultimate Table Tennis Season 4: Manika Batra makes winning for Bengaluru Smashers


Share post:

(ANI) Manika Batra of Bengaluru Smashers made a winning start in the Ultimate Table Tennis Season 4 as she defeated Diya Chitale of U Mumba TT by 2-1 here at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex, Mahalunge-Balewadi in Pune on Thursday.

Bengaluru Smasherswere up by 4-2 team points against U Mumba TT till the time of writing with three matches to go in an exciting tie of the Ultimate Table Tennis Season 4, powered by DafaNews.

In the first match of the tie (Men’s Singles), World No.58 Kirill Gerassimenko upset World No. 18 Quadri Aruna by 2-1 to gain two crucial team points for his franchise. The Bengaluru Smashers paddler began the match with positive intent and played some precise shots to defeat Quadri by 11-3, 9-11, 11-8 in a thrilling contest.

Manika played the second match of the tie (Women’s Singles category) and beat Diya 2-1 to extend her franchise’s lead by 4-2 in the tie. She was in top gear from the start of the match and won it by 11-10, 7-11, 11-6 with her aggressive and creative net play.

In Saturday’s action Season 3 finalist Dabang Delhi TTC will look to grab the title this time around in the Ultimate Table Tennis Season 4 as they have a strong set of players.

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran is the star attraction for the Delhi franchise, while Sreeja Akula and Ayhika Mukherjee also carry the experience of playing in big tournaments. Anirban Ghosh is the young talent in the team, while Barbora Balazova and Jon Persson bring an international flavour to Dabang Delhi TTC.

“I have been a part of Dabang Delhi TTC for all the seasons of UTT and to be back here with the team feels like a homecoming. The league has played a tremendous role in nurturing Indian talent, and we have a great squad this season as well. We are looking forward to our ties and our focus is to win the title,” commented Sathiyan ahead of the tie quoted from UTT press release.

On the other hand, Goa Challengers will bank on their foreign signings Alvaro Robles and Suthasini Sawettabut besides Indian stars Harmeet Desai, Anthony Amalraj, T Reeth Rishya and Krittwika Sinha Roy.

Pic Credit: Getty Images

Oh hi there đź‘‹
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Related articles

Indian Prowess Shines at ITTF World Youths: Jennifer and Divyanshi Secure Final Spot

In an exhilarating display of talent at the #ITTFWorldYouths in Nova Gorcia, Slovenia, India's young table tennis stars,...

Mostafa Sal Triumphs in TTI Milwaukee Hong Kong Squash Open 2023 Men’s Quarterfinals

In a riveting quarterfinal clash at the TTI Milwaukee Hong Kong Squash Open 2023, Egypt's No. 3 seed,...

Syed Modi International 2023: Priyanshu Rajawat advances to Semifinals

-Olympics India’s Priyanshu Rajawat made the men’s singles semi-finals at the Syed Modi International 2023 badminton tournament in Lucknow...

Team India Roars: A Spectacular Start to FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup 2023

In a dazzling display of skill and determination, #TeamIndia kicked off their FIH Hockey Women's Junior World Cup...
%d bloggers like this: