India shuttlers gear up for Badminton Asia Team Championship 2024


Share post:


India shuttler teams will begin their Badminton Asia Team Championship 2024 campaign on Wednesday in Shah Alam, Malaysia.

The tournament kicked off on Tuesday and the hosts will be looking to defend their men’s singles titles. Malaysia will square off against Brunei later in the day.

The tournament will serve as the Asian qualifier for the Thomas and Uber Cups which will be held this year. The badminton world men’s and women’s team championships will take place in Chengdu, People’s Republic of China from April 28 to May 5.

The women’s team will open the campaign against China, two-time Olympic medallist PV Sindhu who has been struggling for form for the past couple of years will look to return to her groove. While Treesa Jolly and Gayatri Gopichand will look to make an impact for India as well.

India’s men’s contingent comprises star shuttlers in both men’s and women’s categories. World Championship medallists HS Prannoy and Lakshya Sen will be in the limelight while Asian Games men’s doubles champions Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty will also look to make their mark.

The men’s team will begin their campaign on Wednesday against Hong Kong China. On Thursday, the men’s team will compete against China.

India men’s team: HS Prannoy, Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, Chirag Sen, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty, Dhruv Kapila, MR Arjun, Suraj Goala, Pruthvi Roy.

India women’s team: PV Sindhu, Anmol Kharb, Tanvi Sharma, Ashmita Chaliha, Treesa Jolly, Gayatri Gopichand, Ashwini Ponnappa, Tanisha Crasto, Priya Devi Konjengbam, Shruti Mishra.

GroupsMen Group A: People’s Republic of China, India, Hong Kong ChinaMen Group B: Malaysia, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan, BruneiMen Group C: Japan, Thailand, Singapore, MyanmarMen Group D: Indonesia, Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates, Saudi ArabiaWomen Group W: People’s Republic of China, IndiaWomen Group X: Indonesia, Hong Kong China, KazakhstanWomen Group Y: Thailand, Malaysia, United Arab EmiratesWomen Group Z: Japan, Chinese Taipei, Singapore. (ANI)

Oh hi there đź‘‹
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Related articles

World Rugby U20 Championship: England end eight-year wait for title

England end France's quest for a record-equalling fourth consecutive U20 Championship title with a hard-fought 21-13 win in...

La Grande Seine, an exclusive behind-the-scenes documentary of the Paris 2024 Opening Ceremony

The upcoming Opening Ceremony for the Olympic Games Paris 2024 promises to be a truly once-in-a-lifetime spectacle, taking place along...

All the highlights from Spain’s stunning end to Season 4 


Scotland crowned World Rugby U20 Trophy 2024 champions

Scotland secured promotion to the World Rugby U20 Championship 2025 after beating USA 48-10 in the final at...